2023 Festival Orchestra

Violin I

Chair Sponsors–Bob & Wilma Bryant
George & Nancy Gale

  • Concertmaster: Montreal Symphony Orchestra (retired)

Chair Sponsor–Lindsey & Jan Vereen

  • Associate Concertmaster: Atlanta Symphony
  • Concertmaster: Cabrillo Festival
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
  • Faculty: Kennesaw State University & Morehouse College
  • Concertmaster: Chattanooga Bach Choir
  • Former Concertmaster: Huntsville Symphony
  • Nashville Opera
  • Substitute: Nashville Symphony
  • Nashville Symphony
  • Faculty: Southern Adventist University
  • Concertmaster:Hamilton US National Tour
  • Substitute: Moulin Rouge Broadway
  • Violin/viola Teacher & Chamber Music Coach (freelance)
  • Vancouver Symphony (retired)
  • Turning Point Ensemble
  • Trio Accord
  • Professor Emeritus: Butler University
  • The Psychedelic Ensemble
  • Substitute: Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra
  • Chamber, Commercial and Recording Artist
  • Former Concertmaster: Bellingham Symphony Orchestra
  • Professor: Western Washington University
  • String Area Coordinator: Western Washington University
  • Co-Director: WWU Summer Chamber Music Institute & WWU Orchestra Festival
  • Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra
  • ProMusica Chamber Orchestra
  • Yale School of Music
  • APEX Ensemble NYC
  • Principal: Pacific Northwest Ballet
  • First Violin: Cabrillo Festival
  • Recording Artist: Skywalker Sound
  • Guest Concertmaster: Pacific Northwest Opera
  • Regular Substitute: Pacific Northwest Ballet Orchestra
  • Regular Substitute: Seattle Symphony & Opera
  • Seattle Freelancer

Violin II

Chair Sponsors–Jack & Marybeth Campbell

  • Principal Second Violin: The Florida Orchestra
  • Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music
  • St. Pete Baroque
  • Section Second Violin: Alabama Symphony Orchestra
  • Section Second Violin: The Florida Orchestra (former)
  • Professor: Renmin University of China, Beijing
  • Concertmaster: Pan Asia Symphony, New York
  • New York Freelance Concertmaster
  • Assistant Principal Second: Vancouver Opera Orchestra
  • Concertmaster: Lions Gate Sinfonia
  • Second Violin: Microcosmos Quartet
  • Concertmaster: Montgomery Symphony Orchestra
  • Associate Professor of Violin: Hugh Hodgson School of Music, University of Georgia
  • Kansas City symphony
  • Principal 2nd Violin, Quad City Symphony Orchestra


Chair Sponsors–Michelle Judson & Barry Hembree

  • Viola: Detroit Symphony Orchestra
  • Assistant Professor of Viola: Michigan State University
  • Associate Principal Viola & Acting Principal Viola: Indianapolis Symphony (former)
  • Principal Viola: New Haven Symphony Orchestra
  • Associate Principal Viola: Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
  • Faculty: Western Washington University
  • Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra
  • Lockerbie String Quartet
  • Director: The Viola School
  • Freelancer
  • Viola Section Leader: The Ulster Orchestra (former)
  • Assistant Principal Viola: Naples Philharmonic Orchestra (former)
  • Substitute Violin: Seattle Symphony Orchestra, and Pacific Northwest Ballet


Chair Sponsor–Loraine Boland

  • Professor: University of Florida
  • Cello: Helton-Thomas Duo
  • The Florida Orchestra
  • Faculty: Eckerd College
  • Ciompi Quartet, Duke University
  • Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra (retired)
  • Substitute: Minnesota Orchestra
  • Solo Projects Funded by the Minnesota State Arts Board and the McKnight Foundation
  • Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra (retired)
  • Faculty: University of Indianapolis


Chair Sponsors–Paula McCandlis & Joe Dozal

  • Section Bass: St. Louis Symphony Orchestra
  • Oakland Symphony
  • Alchemy Sound Project
  • Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra
  • Composer
  • Vancouver Symphony
  • Turning Point Ensemble
  • Regular Substitute: San Francisco Opera


Chair Sponsors–Dave Peterson & Diane Penn

  • Principal Flute: Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
  • Artist Affiliate: Emory University
  • Second Flute: Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
  • Principal Flute: Atlanta Chamber Players
  • Artist In Residence: Kennesaw State University
  • Co-Principal and Charter Member: IRIS Orchestra (former)


Chair Sponsors–David Wu & Una Yang
John Moffat & Karen Lerner

  • Second Oboe: National Symphony Orchestra and San Diego Symphony
  • Professor: Kent State University
  • Kent/Blossom Music Festival
  • Erie Philharmonic
  • Solo English Horn: St. Louis Symphony Orchestra


Chair Sponsors–Kurt & Wilma Schweickhard

  • Principal Clarinet: Atlanta Symphony Orchestra (retired)

Chair Sponsors–Kurt & Wilma Schweickhard

  • Assistant Principal Clarinet: National Symphony Orchestra
  • Executive Director: Bellingham Festival of Music
  • Principal Clarinet: Bellingham Symphony Orchestra
  • Bellingham Chamber Music Society

Bass Clarinet

  • Director: Young Composers Workshop
  • 2022-23 Artist-in-Residence: Seattle Symphony Orchestra
  • Principal Clarinet: Yakima Symphony Orchestra


Chair Sponsors–Ron & Shelly Jepson

  • Principal Bassoon (Retired): Detroit Symphony Orchestra
  • Principal Bassoon: Cayuga Chamber Orchestra
  • Substitute: Boston Symphony, Seattle Symphony
  • Principal Bassoon: Pacific Northwest Ballet Orchestra
  • Second Bassoon: Seattle Symphony Orchestra (former)
  • Principal Bassoon: Israel Chamber Orchestra (former)


Chair Sponsors: Jim & Judy Woods

  • Associate Principal Horn: Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Chair Sponsor–Barbara Vz Howard

  • Principal Horn: Atlanta Symphony Orchestra (retired)
  • Jacksonville Symphony
  • Formerly Houston and San Antonio Symphonies
  • Associate Principal Horn: Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
  • Associate Principal Horn: Kansas City Symphony
  • Co-Principal Horn: Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra
  • Second Horn: Houston Grand Opera
  • Principal Horn: Pacific Northwest Ballet Orchestra
  • Adjunct Faculty: University Puget Sound and Seattle Pacific University
  • Seattle Symphony/Seattle Opera extra


Chair Sponsors–Joel & Mary Pat Thuma

  • Principal Trumpet: Portland Opera
  • Acting Principal Trumpet: Oregon Ballet Theater
  • Utility Trumpet: Oregon Symphony Orchestra
  • National Symphony Orchestra
  • Principal Trumpet: Santa Fe Pro Musica
  • Principal Trumpet: Dallas Winds
  • Substitute: Seattle Symphony, Pacific Northwest Ballet


Chair Sponsor–Charli Daniels

  • Assistant Principal Trombone: The Florida Orchestra
  • Boston Freelancer
  • New England Conservatory


Chair Sponsors: Laura & Mark Deaton

  • Principal Tuba: Pacific Northwest Ballet Orchestra and Auburn Symphony
  • Auburn Symphony
  • Affiliate Faculty: University of Puget Sound


Chair Sponsors–Peter Coggan & Maureen Ryan
Bob & Betty Tull

  • Principal Timpanist: Symphony Tacoma
  • Principal Timpanist: Northwest Sinfonietta


Chair Sponsors–Peter Coggan & Maureen Ryan
Bob & Betty Tull

  • Principal Timpanist: Symphony Tacoma
  • Principal Timpanist: Northwest Sinfonietta
  • Professor of Music: Western Washington University
  • Principal Percussionist: Pacific Northwest Ballet Orchestra and Auburn Symphony Orchestra
  • Percussion Coach: Seattle Youth Symphony
  • Chamber/New music artist
  • Principal Percussion: Seattle 5th Avenue Theatre
  • Principal Percussion: Seattle Paramount Theater
  • Auburn Symphony
  • Extra: Pacific Northwest Ballet
  • Pacific Northwest Ballet Orchestra
  • Affiliate Faculty: Western Washington University


Piano & Celeste

  • Professor of Music: Western Washington University
  • Artistic Director: Sanford-Hill Piano Series


  • Artistic Director: Archipelago Collective Chamber Music Festival